Uncategorized

No Chai?

Summer is here! Well not much of a difference where I live. It’s warm and sunny throughout the year. With occasional bursts of rain when the rain gods feel happy and other times moody as hell. This city, although it offers all the world’s comfort sometimes fails to deliver rain at just the right time. But I seldom complain. Today, the city’s weather is just on point. It’s windy and cloudy outside (just how I like it). No sign of rain (yet) and a bit of sunlight here and there.

So why do I feel not to have a cup of tea this month? Even during the good old Sunday mornings. I don’t feel like it. May-June is the peak summer time in Singapore. It’s less humid and more dry. You feel thirsty and even though today the city has graced me with it’s wind and galore I still feel like I NEED my Strawberry Lemonade! (recipe coming soon)

We Indians like to add spice to everything and what I crave is no exception. Nothing can be too sweet or too salty for us. Have you tried our jalebis ? They are nothing but crispy funnel cake like sweet dish dipped in sugar syrup. Try that and tell us that we aren’t extreme on our food. But that’s not the point I am making here. When it’s hot and chai cannot just satisfy cold treats. And please don’t recommend me cold tea drinks, although I do love them but they don’t taste like hot Indian tea, I am sort of steering clear of chai this month. Hopefully I can serve the purpose of reminiscing about home and stick to the true meaning of my blog. For now, no chai.  Just some casual cold lassi. (is that reminiscing about home or what?)

Leave a comment